Poland took the gold of Enea European Team Speedway Championship

The Polish national team won the Enea European Team Speedway Championship in Poznań, thus going down in the history of this sport. It was the first edition of this event. Silver medals for Danes, bronze medals for Great Britain. The Swedes took fourth place.

The day before the competition, during the Speedway Grand Prix in Warsaw, Mikkel Michelsen suffered a painful fall, which forced a change in the Danish national team. Hans Nielsen has commissioned to replace one of his leaders, Rasmus Jensen.

This probably cut the wings of the Danes, who somehow could not find their way around the track in Poznań from the very beginning. In addition, their leader Leon Madsen was stung by a bee, which made him withdraw from further competition, only going to the track twice. The British, who tried to keep up with the Poles, did much better.

However, it was Biało-Czerwoni who set the tone for the competition. Especially Janusz Kołodziej and Bartosz Zmarzlik were great, and Patryk Dudek was second to them. Maciej Janowski, who recorded a dangerous looking fall in his second start, also added his points.

The Poles were building their advantage successively and after 16 races it was certain that they would win gold medals. In turn, Denmark and Great Britain still had to settle the matter of silver and bronze among themselves. Ultimately, the descendants of Hamlet came second.

– Every gold enjoys the same. It’s nice that we have returned to the team competition, so liked by all fans. I like to ride on wide tracks, here I found the right paths and that was my tactic for this competition – said Janusz Kołodziej, who did not find a slayer at the Stadium Golecin.


1. Poland – 47 points

Patryk Dudek 11 (0,2,3,3,3)
Maciej Janowski 7 (3, in, 1,2,1 *)
Janusz Kołodziej 15 (3,3,3,3,3)
Bartosz Zmarzlik 14 (3,3,3,3,2)
Kacper Woryna DNS

2. Denmark – 28 points

Leon Madsen 3 (1,2, -, -, -)
Patrick Hansen 6 (2,1,2,1,0)
Anders Thomsen 7 (0,3,1,2,1)
Rasmus Jensen 6 (1,2,1,2)
Frederik Jakobsen 6 (3,0,0,3)

3. Great Britain – 27 points

Robert Lambert 10 (2,2,3,1,1,1)
Dan Bewley 11 (2,1,2,3,3)
Adam Ellis 2 (1,1,0,0)
Chris Harris 4 (2,0,1,1,0)
Tom Brennan NS

4. Sweden – 18 points

Jacob Thorssell 4 (0.2,0.2,d)
Fredrik Lindgren 8+1 (1,1,2,2,0,2 *)
Filip Hjelmland NS
Oliver Berntzon 4 (3, d, 0, d, 1)
Kim Nilsson 2 (0,0,0,2)