It’s time for HN Nowak GmbH European Team Speedway Championship Grand Final

The Polish national team will have a chance to defend the title of Team European Speedway Champions on Saturday. HN Nowak GmbH European Team Speedway Championship will start at 14.00 in the German city of Stralsund. The rivals of the Biało-Czerwoni, led by the current world champion Bartosz Zmarzlik, will be the Danes, the British and the Germans. Tickets available at the stadium ticket offices from 9.30.


Poles are considered the favorites of the event. Last year, they won quite clearly on the track in Poznań, starting in the following line-up: Bartosz Zmarzlik, Janusz Kołodziej, Maciej Janowski, Patryk Dudek, Kacper Woryna. They then overtook Denmark and Great Britain. This season, the rules of the competition have changed a bit, which allows the participation of one rider participating in the Speedway Grand Prix cycle, as well as a speedway rider under 21 in the reserve position.

The coach of our team, Rafał Dobrucki, compared to the Final A in Gdańsk, where Poles won promotion to Stralsund less than a week ago, made two changes in the composition. Instead of Jakub Miśkowiak, we will see three-time world champion Bartosz Zmarzlik. In turn, in the position of the U21 player, Wiktor Przyjemski will be replaced by Bartłomiej Kowalski. The captain of the team will be Jarosław Hampel.

– This is already a direct fight for medals and that is why we are fielding the strongest possible squad. Jarek, Szymon and Dominik together with the youngsters proved in Gdańsk that they deserve to ride in the Grand Final. Our team could not miss Bartosz Zmarzlik, and I also decided to take Bartek Kowalski to Germany, who is gaining experience in serious events. Our goal is obviously to defend the title, but I know how difficult it will be. However, we are going to fight for gold – said Rafał Dobrucki.

The managers of the other teams also fielded strong squads. The Germans will be fully represented by the players of the Trans MF Landshut Devils team starting in the Polish 1st league. One change compared to last Sunday was made by the British, whose team was expanded by a reserve. Oliver Allen nominated Dan Gilkes for the spot. Nicki Pedersen, however, did not make any castling, and as the manager of the Danes, he will have a chance to win his first medal.

The winner of Saturday’s competition will receive an impressive trophy. According to the rules, if one of the national teams wins the European Team Championship three times, they will keep that trophy.

Team compositions


1. Dan Bewley
2. Adam Ellis
3. Tom Brennan
4. Richie Worrall
17. Dan Gilkes
Menager: Oliver Allen

5. Bartosz Zmarzlik
6. Jarosław Hampel
7. Szymon Woźniak
8. Dominik Kubera
18. Bartłomiej Kowalski
Menager: Rafał Dobrucki

9. Kai Huckenbeck
10. Erik Riss
11. Martin Smoliński
12. Norick Blödorn
19. Erik Bachhuber
Menager: Herbert Rudolph

13. Mikkel Michelsen
14. Frederik Jakobsen
15. Rasmus Jensen
16. Andreas Lyager
20. Emil Breum
Menager: Nicki Pedersen


Advance sale of tickets will be held on Friday from 17:00 to 21:00. On that day and on Saturday from 9:30 to 12:00, tickets will cost EUR 39 (normal) and EUR 29 (reduced). After this date, the price will increase to 45 and 35 euros respectively. Children and teenagers up to 12 years of age enter for free. Reduced tickets are available to retirees and pensioners.